Recently hired New York Regional Advancement Director reflects on her MedShare orientation

I joined the MedShare team on July 16, 2012 as part of the expansion effort in New York. As Regional Advancement Director – New York, it is my job to raise funds and build relationships to support the MedShare mission. It was obvious, from the beginning; I am joining a team of very committed and energetic people.

I spent my first week in Decatur, with an intensive immersion into MedShare. My first days involved what MedShare CEO, Meridith Rentz, described as the “World Series and Super Bowl” for MedShare. On Monday there was a reception for attendees of the MSRO Conference at MedShare’s distribution center. The next day, while I attended the MSRO Conference, Coca Cola Africa Foundation held their board meeting at MedShare. It was a confluence of people committed to serving others, and a heartwarming way to begin.

The rest of the week I worked with volunteers, “the Wednesday Regulars,” who sort the surplus supplies donated by hospitals and clinics (it was exhausting and humbling!); went on a “ride-along” on the MedShare truck; met with my new colleagues and tried to absorb as much MedShare enthusiasm as I could.

My heart is full as I begin my work in New York, knowing I am part of an organization that makes a tangible difference in global health. 

-Laura Amerman

 Regional Advancement Director, New York

