Emily Rymland Bringing Hope in Duffle Bags

The following entry was written by Emily Rymland, Nurse Practitioner at the East Bay AIDS Center in Oakland, California and Medical Director for Em’s Clinic in Uganda.

Each day, I work as a nurse practitioner at The East Bay AIDS Center in Oakland. That is my day job. My other, most amazing job, is as the medical Director for Em’s Clinic in Kiryabicooli, Uganda. In January, 2014, I was invited at the last minute to help a team of nurses and a pharmacist who were going to the bush in Uganda to have a medical camp for a week.

IMG_2098

After serving 1700 people who would otherwise receive no care at all, it really hit my heart. As I was flying home, back to my normal, abundant life, it became apparent that one week was not enough. It was in that moment that I decided to raise the funds necessary to build a clinic in Kyribicooli that is staffed by Uganda health care providers. It is open every day and affordable.

I had no idea what I was doing! “Learning as you go” was an understatement.

Somehow, after talking and talking, I was able to raise the funds through private donors, to build a building and hire a staff. But wait… what about the stuff?! What about the supplies to fill the shelves? As a private person raising money from private donors I needed to learn resources that would allow me to give the healthcare providers the supplies that they need to do their jobs! A nurse friend of mine told me about Medshare…a place that would allow me to get much-needed supplies for very little money. Amazing!

The first time I visited Medshare, I was amazed. I was thrilled as I walked through the warehouse, seeing all of the supplies that would allow me to open the doors. In addition to getting the supplies, the staff helped me to determine what I needed and what made the most sense to bring.

Each time I fly, I am allowed to carry two 50 lb. bags on the airline for free. Each January, I take a team of about 12 medical providers to help with care at the clinic and further out in the bush. The supplies include instruments, bandages, sutures, oh, so many supplies! Our shelves are stocked.

This would not have happened in such a timely affordable manner without MedShare. It’s because of MedShare that we are able to provide the care to our patients for such an affordable rate. We serve a population that is considered one of the poorest in the world. Our goal is to provide primary care, infectious disease care and prevention, health education and that which is most dear to my heart, HIV testing and linkage to care. Additionally, we are building a new HIV prevention program.

IMG_3182

The people of Kirybicooli are the most appreciative, kind and loving people that I have had the luck to work with and for. Our staff live next to our clinic so that care is available at any time of the day. These young health workers are 100% committed to serving their community. They have chosen to live a very isolated life in order to serve. So, it is so amazing when I bring the duffle bags to them. It’s like Christmas! They go through every single object and decide where it’s going live. Thanks to you, Medshare, our shelves are stocked and our patients are cared for.

-Emily Rymland

2 thoughts on “Emily Rymland Bringing Hope in Duffle Bags

  1. Great partnership for your work and it is your energy and devotion that precipitates great results. Medshare and Emily make for a most humanitarian Synergy!

Comments are closed.